Exhibition: Great British Drawings

Sat, Jul 1, 2017 (All day)

Great British Drawings from the Ashmolean Museum opens at Princeton University Art Museum on Saturday, July 1. 

Selected entirely from the holdings of the world’s oldest university museum and heralded as “A treasure chest of gorgeous surprises” by The Times of London, this exhibition provides a rich and deeply varied survey of the drawing tradition in Britain. Great British Drawings showcases over 100 works by some of Britain’s greatest artists from Thomas Gainsborough and J. M. W. Turner to Dante Gabriel Rossetti and David Hockney.

Great British Drawings closes September 17.

Click here for more information

Image credit: John Sell Cotman, British, 1782–1842. A Ruined House, ca. 1807–10. Watercolour over graphite on paper. The Ashmolean Museum, Oxford. Image © Ashmolean Museum, University of Oxford

Location: 
Princeton University Art Museum

Princeton Summer Theater: Pippin

Thu, Jun 22, 2017, 8:00 pm
Hamilton Murray Theater

Summer Chamber Concerts: Windsync

Wed, Jun 28, 2017, 7:30 pm
Richardson Auditorium in Alexander Hall

Exhibition: Great British Drawings

Sat, Jul 1, 2017 (All day)
Princeton University Art Museum

Summer Chamber Concerts: Brentano String Quartet

Sun, Jul 9, 2017, 3:00 pm
Richardson Auditorium in Alexander Hall

Princeton Summer Theater: Spider's Web

Thu, Jul 13, 2017, 8:00 pm
Hamilton Murray Theater

Summer Chamber Concerts: Lysander Piano Trio

Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 7:30 pm
Richardson Auditorium in Alexander Hall

Exhibition: Transient Effects

Sat, Jul 22, 2017 (All day)
Princeton University Art Museum

Summer Chamber Concerts: Argus Quartet

Wed, Jul 26, 2017, 7:30 pm
Richardson Auditorium in Alexander Hall

Princeton Summer Theater: The Crucible

Thu, Jul 27, 2017, 8:00 pm
Hamilton Murray Theater

Princeton Summer Theater: Appropriate

Thu, Aug 10, 2017, 8:00 pm
Hamilton Murray Theater